Tags

, , , , , , ,

Oasis-Definition-Illustrated-by-Bloggeretterized

Fireflies are probably one of my favorite bugs out there. (Before entomologists crucify me let me disclaim that for the sake of this post I’m using the word bug to describe any insect/critter out there. 😉) They are tied in first place with butterflies and ladybugs. Yeah, I’m corny-ish like that! HA!

Anyway, fireflies have a special place in my heart. Back in college, I was in a Biology 101 group project that involved fireflies and I got to spend some time looking for them in a river bank. Growing up, I was blessed with a backyard that was full of fireflies, that made me think my backyard was a magic place at night. It still is.

I don’t know what it is, I mean when you look at them in daylight, they are not the cutest things to the eye. But once it’s dark and they start glowing, they are divine creatures. We have a friendly relationship, the fireflies in my backyard and I. Sometimes when I’m watering plants in the garden at night, I see them blinking as I start pouring the water. It’s like they’re saying: “Wait a sec, we’re here, give us time to fly away so we don’t get wet!” I’ve saved many of my glowing friends from drowning. They start glowing and I pick them up and let them fly free.

That is why when I saw these photographs I immediately felt like I had to share them with you.

Yume Cyan, is a Japanese photographer that captured spectacular, magical moments in the forests of Nagoya City, Japan. I’m not a connoisseur of the science and techniques in photography but you don’t have to be one to state that these are amazing shots. For those who want more info on these, according to those who know, these are long exposition photographs (30 seconds at ISO 800) taken and I quote:

…with a Canon 5D Mark III and 50 mm lens. The aperture was set at f/2.8 – this made the closer fireflies look like out-of-focus circles of light. Finally the photos were combined together into composite shots.

Yume Cyan‘s firefly photographs capture magic. These fairytale like images make me want to go to those forests in Japan and see the magic with my own eyes. Don’t you?

Yume Cyan‘s firefly photographs are truly an oasis. Enjoy!

Yume Cyan long exposure photograph of fireflies in the forests of Nagoya City, Japan

Yume Cyan long exposure photograph of fireflies in the forests of Nagoya City, Japan

Yume Cyan Long exposure firefiles in nagoya city japanYume Cyan Long exposure firefiles in nagoya city japan

Yume Cyan Long exposure firefiles in nagoya city japan

Yume Cyan Long exposure firefiles in nagoya city japan