Tags

, , , , , ,

Who wanted to be a bookworm?

Me!

There I was, back in June with the bookworm butterflies in my mind. I wanted to start reading again. And I did!

I joined Goodreads so I could keep track of my reading progress and you know what? I had a lot of fun! 🙂 I enjoyed updating my reading progress. Read other people’s reviews and learned a lot from them. I entered book giveaways and was the lucky winner of 3 books! Still haven’t interacted much with people in there (even though it’s a huge community) but hey, there’s more time than anything in this life right?

I set myself a reading challenge for 2012. A very unrealistic goal, for such a little time. How did I do?

2012 Reading Challenge

2012 Reading Challenge
Bloggeretterized has
read 13 books toward her goal of 25 books.
hide

I didn’t complete the challenge. But who says I failed? It all depends on the way you take things. For me, this challenge is a Victory.

According to Goodreads, I read 3382 pages, the longest book was Crux by Moira Rogers with 693 pages. Not bad for someone who went from reading nothing (or does the paper count?).

I managed to read 13 books in 6 months. That means I read an average of two books per month. And that is a great thing for me. I had a tough year, lots of responsibilities and I found the time to squeeze in a little reading through it all. Yay me!

I enjoyed this challenge a lot.

2012 reading challengeI followed my lovely reader Alena‘s advice and read a variety of stories. Stories with which I travelled back in time to the Southern Belles Époque, learned many new details about the American Civil War (you don’t learn those in school), let my imagination fly through fairy tales and people with amazing superpowers, reassured life lessons about dealing with loss, learned a new meaning of the phrase “madly in love” ha ha ha and of course fell in love with love.

2012 booklist:

  1. Whatever I Please by C.J. Hawk
  2. Bah, Humbug! A Romantic Comedy Novella by Heather Horrocks
  3. The Green Door by V.A. Jeffrey
  4. Unenchanted by Chanda Hahn
  5. Defiant Impostor  by Miriam Minger
  6. Beyond the Wood  by Michael J. Roueche
  7. Chocolate Beach  by Julie Carobini
  8. Crux (Southern Arcana, #1) by Moira Rogers
  9. Let It Go: A True Story of Tragedy and Forgiveness by Chris Williams
  10. Taking Heart  by Wilette Youkey
  11. The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins
  12. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
  • Favorite book of the year: Taking Heart.
  • Not so favorite :S book of the year: Chocolate Beach.

Another win from this challenge is that I no longer feel an “aversion” towards e-books. Still feel that nothing beats the reading experience you get from holding a real book in your hands, but I know I can read e-books and somehow enjoy the practicality they bring to my life.

Already challenged myself for 25 books on 2013. I can do it! Can’t wait to see where these books take me! Another goal for this year is to try audiobooks. I’ll keep you posted on how I do.  Oh and yeah, follow me on Goodreads if you’re there. ;)