Tags

, , , ,

I do!

Lots of adventures and undiscovered worlds!

My parents are both bookworms. Their priced possessions are books.

I used to be a bookworm. Mom taught me to read before I even went to school. I got into school one year in advance because I started reading the newspaper as my mother got interviewed by the school principal. The woman stared at me and asked what I was reading about? I answered and she said: “Forget Kindergarden, this girl is ready for first grade“. (Well it wasn’t that easy, I also took the tests and scored enough to get into first grade.)

So all through my school years, books were always with me. I read the entire section of paperbacks in my school library. College came and I started to lose the reading bug. I stopped reading for leisure. I mostly read school related stuff (books and mags). I read a book here and there but for some reason I started using my reading time for other college-ish activities!Ā  ha ha ha

Anywho, life goes on. Thought I had the reading bug back after the 7 Harry Potter books, and yes the Edward and Bella books too. (I’m old enough to admit I read those and enjoyed them! HA!) But I really haven’t made anything to regain the habit back.

yeah, I was like this…emphasis on was.

I was one of those who refused to get into the e-book bandwagon. For me there’s nothing like the feeling of holding a book in your hand, the smell….the feeling of turning the last page and closing a book after you finish reading it. You don’t get that with ebooks.

BUT, after moving and admitting a year after moving that there are still unpacked boxes of books in the storage room, I just had to give the ebooks a try. I’m slowly getting the hang of them.

I also joined Goodreads which for some unexpected reason has made me excited about reading. If you don’t know what Goodreads is, it’s and I quote because I read it here:Ā  “Facebook for people who love to read books“. I still haven’t checked out the real social facebook-ish experience of Goodreads (join/form book clubs, interact with authors, etc), but so far I’ve been reading people’s reviews to see what I’d like to read and even posted one of my own (see my Bah Humbug post).

I also challenged myself to read 25 books. I know that it doesn’t seem like a real challenge, but I hope this challenge helps get me the habit back. I’m taking my challenge seriously, and so far have managed to read everyday, even if it is for a couple of minutes. Just started my third book. šŸ˜€ Follow me on Goodreads if you’re there. šŸ˜‰

I am also taking advantage of all the freebies out there. For some it may sound cheap. Not for me, like I said it’s taking advantage of the situation to my benefit. There are tons of great free ebooks out there. Light reads or even the classics. Everything is out there for grabs. All you have to do is get it and start reading.

So that’s what I’ve been up to these days.Ā  How about you? Are you bookworms? Do you like reading? Do you know of anything else I can do to get my reading habit back? Let me know!

