Tags

, , , , , ,

The world-wide web is a vast universe full of these.

In the spirit of Sharing is Caring, I share my finds with you all.

Check them out.

Hopefully you’ll find, that these are:

GOOD FINDS, GOOD READS

Thanksgiving just flew by. And I don’t know if it’s everywhere but at least in my neck of the woods, Thanksgiving is just the beginning of a “let’s get together and stuff ourselves for fun” season.

After Thanksgiving, you just don’t stop eating because the Christmas parties come. Church groups, friends, coworkers, companies, any volunteering organization you belong to, etc., after Thanksgiving everyone decides it’s time to get together and celebrate the season and whatever it is you did during the year.

With so much eating at hand there’s always the classic joke about how you had a food comma after one of those parties/gatherings. And I was curious about whether or not food commas were real.

I found this little article on FoodRepublic and this one on Motherboard that gave me the answers I needed. Check them out. 🙂

I love love love love love love love and love perfumes. If I had to choose between buying perfume or shoes, I choose perfume. I like to smell nice, I like to combine perfumes and see how their aromas change on my skin. I like wearing perfume for me. Also , the science behind them amazes me. Being a perfumer is an ideal job in my humble opinion.

What I hate about fragrances is the way they are marketed. They are marketed toward people who lead surreal fantastic lives, not normal plain janes like me who just love to smell nice. And also, everything leads to sex. Every single add has a ridiculously gorgeous woman getting naked and going horizontal with some random but gorgeous guy they just met in an exotic exclusive secret location. Does that happen in real life?!?! NO!!!

So when I found this article: How to write a fragrance commercial, I couldn’t stop laughing out loud and I knew I had to share it with you guys. Hope you have a good laugh like I did! 🙂

As a single woman in her thirties, I know what it is to be constantly asked this question. Every single woman has her reasons. It doesn’t annoy me anymore when people ask. I just see who the question is coming from and I answer it accordingly.

Anyway, regarding this, I found this article on Vice very interesting. It has statistics and data that gives an insight of what is happening in America. And if you are looking for an easy answer for the “why are you single” question, the article gives it to you: “because there aren’t enough men“.

The dreaded Friend Zone. It’s been a topic of a lot of controversy, specially when people (and even Wikipedia) think it’s something women do.

For those of you out there who believe it’s an evil thing only women do, let me tell you that you are wrong. Women get Friend Zoned too. I’m living proof.

I was recently Friend Zoned. And yes it stinks. It hurts. It sucks. But it also something that doesn’t kill you. It is liberating and gives you the security of knowing where you are standing.

One thing that helped me get out of the Friend Zone funk was this fabulous post by Rashi Sharma. If you are a woman who has just been friend zoned, go read it NOW!!!! Don’t miss Rashi’s final words…they are epic!!!

 

Speaking of final words in posts, I want to end today’s Good Reads in a positive way. I recently read this post on YummyLummy, my fellow blogger friend Gary’s blog. It is a sad but inspiring post in which he pays homage to Barb, a fellow blogger of his, who passed away.

I have experienced the loss of fellow bloggers in the sense that they decide to quit the blogging world for various reasons. I haven’t experienced the loss of a fellow blogger because of their passing away.

Despite the sadness that surrounds his post, I thought it would be nice to share it with you for different reasons:

  • to make Barb’s legacy known and so every other fellow blogger can say a little prayer for her.
  • because Gary’s final words in this post are inspiring and should be shared around the blogging community.
  • because as Gary says life is short and I want to say that I deeply appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to visit my blog and read my words.

 


 

image credit: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 via photopin (license).
