Tags

, ,

I’m pretty bad at this tagging business in the blogging world. I have been nominated before to other awards but when it comes to following the “rules” after being nominated I just don’t seem to be able to follow them. It’s not that I’m not grateful for the recognition. The fact that someone thought of my little blog and that it deserved a little spotlight is gratifying and fills my blog-ish heart with blog-love.

The Blogger Recognition Award was originally created by Eve from Edge of Night. I was recently nominated by Anastasia from Read and Survive to this award. I told her I’d do my best to keep this going. Therefore, I  hereby accept this lovely award. Thank you Anastasia for the nomination and Eve for creating it. This one gave me a little confidence boost and inspires me to keep on blogging. 😉

Blogger Recognition Award

~ Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to. Do some digging if you must! Find those blogs. You cannot nominate yourself or the person who has nominated you.

Write a post to show off your award! Give a brief story of how your blog got started, and give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers. Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog. List who you’ve nominated in the post.

~ Comment on each blog and let them know you’ve nominated them. Provide a link to the award post you created.

~ Provide a link to the original post on Edge of Night. That way, anyone can find the original guidelines and post if needed, and we can keep it from mutating and becoming confusing!

Like I said in my first post, I had been a mind blogger for a while. I thought a lot about going online with my thoughts but the more I thought about it, the more I got discouraged.

Until one day at the beginning of 2012, I decided I wanted blogging to be a part of my life. I stopped denying myself the chance to be part of the blogosphere and started my journey as a bloggerette.

It’s been three years now. I’ve had to juggle some tough unexpected life situations during this time. Regardless, I’ve managed to not let life get in my way of my blog life. I still have a lot to learn as a bloggerette, but I can tell you I have enjoyed each moment of the blogging process. I just take it one blog post at a time.

Disclaim, Disclaim, Disclaim

Be original, don’t steal content. Everyone’s creative process is different but the one thing we all have in common is that creating content takes precious time. Don’t be a thief and claim someone’s hard work as yours.

Don’t think that because you found an image on you browser, it’s free for you to use at your will. Take your own pictures, create your own blog graphics or use free photos with Creative Commons. You can get into serious legal problems if you use copyrighted images. Some bloggers don’t mind sharing their images if you kindly ask them. But don’t just use an image without checking its attributions.

Be polite if someone steals your content. I know it’s difficult not to feel angry or discouraged when people steal from you. But always keep in mind that “you can catch more flies with honey than with vinegar”. Be polite when you address someone who has stolen content from you. I recently went through this. I never lost my temper and politely asked these people to remove their content on their sites and thankfully they did.

Blog when you can. Yes, it is important to keep our blogs with updated content, but develop a blogging schedule that works for you. It doesn’t matter if you can only write one post a week, or 3 times a week or every day. Just make sure the schedule works for you. That way you enjoy blogging and it will never feel like an obligation.

Don’t worry about blogger’s block. There will be days when you won’t be able to blog for diverse reasons. Don’t worry. We all get it from time to time. It could be a day, a week or a long while. Visit other blogs when you get the block. Blogspiration is everywhere. And don’t worry about being blocked. Be true to your followers. They’ll know when you write from the heart or out of obligation.

If you’re a book blogger, don’t feel obligated to read and review everything. Read only what you want and when you want. That way, you will be able to write better reviews and enjoy the reading and book blogging process.

I nominate all of my followers. 😀 I had to list 15 of you to follow the rules, but if you follow my blog, you aren’t on the list and would like to give this tag a try, please think of yourself as nominated as well.

Nikola | Book Bunny

Gary | Yummy Lummy

Erika | The Book’s the Thing

Beth | Walloping Teaspoon

Lea | Lea at Sea

The Mouse | Live 2 Eat, Eat 2 Live

Emma | Bookworm Chatterbox

Cathy | Between the Lines

Macy | Macy Loves Stories

Laura | My Berkeley Bowl

The two minds behind The Bookworm Coalition

Emily | Books & Cleverness

Madame Bibi lophile Recommends

Ronyell | Rabbit Ears Productions

Q | Q’s Book blog

