Tags

, , , ,

Bloggeretterized-If-you-found-a-book-of-your-life,-would-you-read-it-blog-post-header

I just saw this question online and thought I might share with you guys my two cents on this matter.

My initial reaction was: “No, I wouldn’t read it.” Not because I don’t think a book of my life is not interesting. My life is a fabulous story so far, worthy of being turned into a good book. I just am not a writer and haven’t figured out what type of author I would like to write it. 🙂

I wouldn’t read a book of my life because there are so many other books and stories out there that I have yet to read. Frank Zappa is definitely right: so many books, so little time. There’s so much time we have in a life time to read the wonderful works of literature old and new. Why waste the precious minutes in reading a story I know already?

So many books so little time. Frank Zappa #quote

You might tell me: “but you don’t know the end, don’t you want to know what will happen in the next chapters of your life?”

My answer is no my friends. Yes, I’m curious like everyone about my future. Anyone who tells you he or she isn’t a tiny bit curious about the future is lying like Pinocchio. Even though I’ve got the normal curiosity about my future, I like the premise of the future being unknown. I don’t want to know what will happen because it will take away the enjoyment of experiencing those unknown moments. Living a life in which I know what will happen next isn’t appealing to me.

Another reason I wouldn’t want to read about my future is because once I read it, it would be very hard not to alter current events that consequently will modify the future and may or may not invalidate the book. And then there’s a chance that if you read about your future you might not like it. Not all stories have picture perfect happily ever after endings. What if mine turns out to be that way? I admit that those are my favorite books to read, but I still am not sure if I want my life to end up that way.

Those are my reasons for not reading a book about my life. But the more I think about it, I’ve changed my mind on my initial response.

I would read a book about my life……..just not until the end. 😀

Not finishing the book of my life would be such an ironic contradiction in my life. One of my biggest bookish pet peeves are DNFs. I don’t like unfinished business. I’m proud of my 0 DNF book record. No matter how disgusted a story gets me, I’m proud to survive reading it until the end. I always give authors the benefit of the doubt in hopes that their work might get better in the end. Reading a book until the end gives me a full sense of closure and I like that. Even if the book is bad from the get go, I finish it. Reading a book until the end gives me the authority to say if it was good or bad.

But the book of my life would be my only DNF ever. I would like to read some things about my past that are getting blurry as time goes by, to make sure I don’t forget them. And I also want to read some things I don’t remember from my past that are the clues or reasons for the things I’m living in my present. I would probably skim those parts of my life I know and remember. And I would read just until the moment in my life where I find the book. Not a page further.

What about you guys? What would you do?

 


credit for background image on post header: good choice via photopin (license)

