Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

In case you missed the post, let me tell you that my birthday was on January 12th. 😀 I usually post a book review on the weekends, but since this is my “birthday week”, I wanted to post a birthday related post, so this is my way of mixing both themes with a bookish birthday post.

According to OMGFacts.com, and I quote:

You share your birthday with approximately 18 million people worldwide.

If we assume an equal probability of being born any day of the year (not counting February 29th), every person shares their birth date with about 1/365 of any given population.

How about that? 18 million people.

Are you guys like me? Whenever my birthday comes, I usually check out who I share my special day with. I’ve always checked for celebrities or scientists but it turns out there are quite a few writers/authors that were born on my date of birth.

So without further a do, I present you the list of 12 writers/authors I share my birthday with (you can check out their work on the links too!).

12 Writers Born on January 12th by Bloggeretterized

1628 – Charles Perrault – France – We all know his work, I mean who hasn’t been told the story of Little Red Riding Hood or Cinderella to name a few. I like the fact that I was born on the same day of the creator of the Fairy Tale genre – Check out his work: The Complete Fairy Tales  (Kindle, Hardcover)

1724 – Frances Brooke – UK – I find it peculiar that even though she was born in the UK, she was known as “The First Novelist in North America”. – One of her novels: The History of Emily Montague (Kindle FREE, Hardcover)

1876 – Jack London – USA – Did you know his real name was John Griffith? Must confess I didn’t! We’ve all heard of his books such as The Call of the Wild or White Fang, but with 292 Novels, 210 Short Stories, Plays, Poems and Memoirs, I think it’s important to check out his other work. I’m curious about: The Complete Short Stories of Jack London (his 210 short stories on Kindle) or The Little Lady of the Big House (Kindle FREE)

1930 – Jennifer Jonston – Ireland – She is a novelist and playwriter. – Check out her novel The Old Jest (Kindle), which was made into a film called The Dawning, starring Anthony Hopkins, produced by Sarah Lawson and directed by Robert Knights.

1937 – Florence Dugdale – UK – She was a writer of children stories better known as Mrs. Thomas Hardy. I’d like to read her work: The Book of Baby Birds (Hardcover) illustrated by Edward Julius Detmold.

1949 – Haruki Murakami – Japan – Well known for his works of Fiction, surrealism, and magical realism – Check out one of his best sellers: Norweigan Wood (Kindle, Paperback)

1951 – Kirstie Alley – USA – Yes, I know she’s an actress, but she’s written a couple of works of Non-fiction – This one sounds like an entertaining read: The Art of Men (I prefer mine Al Dente) (Kindle, Hardcover)

1954 – Sharon Lechter – USA – Better known as the co-author of the international best selling Rich Dad series. – You can also check out her book: Think and Grow Rich for Women: Using Your Power to Create Success and Significance (Kindle).

1957 – John Lasseter – He is the creative mastermind behind Pixar Animation Studios. He’s behind the story of wonderful movies such as the Toy Story series, Cars and he’s also produced Finding Nemo, Monsters Inc, Frozen, etc. – To know more about him you can check out: John Lasseter: The Whiz Who Made Pixar King (Legends of Animation) (Library Binding)

1957 – C. S. Friedman – USA – Epic Science Fiction, Fantasy Novelist – I haven’t read much of her genre, but I would check out: This Alien Shore (Kindle)

1958 – Christiane Amanpour – UK – I know, she’s a journalist, BUT Rory wanted to be like her, Rory loved to read lots of books, therefore she deserves a place in this bookish list 😀 (Ah! the wonderful Gilmore  logic LOL) – Back to Christiane, she is an author because she’s written the introduction for this book, she was contributor to this other book and wrote this book about the Holy Land.

1964 – Jeff Bezos – USA – CEO and Founder of Amazon. He is an author but I think these books about him are interesting reads, such as: One Click: Jeff Bezos and the Rise of Amazon.com (Paperback), The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon (Hardcover)

What an interesting bunch don’t you think? I feel honored to share a birthday with these accomplished humans. I’m thinking I owe it to them, so I’ll make it a bookish life goal to read their work. Sounds like a good idea right?

If you also want to check out who you share a birthday with, I recommend the Born Glorious site. It’s the perfect place to check out who you share your birthday by profession, birth region or  birth year. 😉

