Tags

, , ,

I didn’t know Joan Rivers had such an impact on me until the moment I learned about her passing. I felt sincere sadness. It was Robin Williams all over.

Joan Rivers was an influence in my life.

I remember admiring her impeccable style since I was a little girl. I liked her two-pieced suits. She always wore a fine brooch or statement necklaces. She was always so elegant. Her red carpet looks were unforgettable, always better dressed than the “celebrities”. Of course she had her misses but there were more wins to set the good example.

I remember watching a show where she mentioned Coco Chanel’s tip that before going out you should look in the mirror and take one accessory off. I’ve been doing that ever since and always look great.

In recent times, her style remained unique, elegant and flawless. Her hair was always perfect. Her must have statement necklaces or bracelets completed her look. Her furs, her coats, her jackets, the sequined ones, her feathers, her scarves, her jewelry, her handbags, purses, her sunglasses, I would love to have them all. I said it as a little girl and I’ll keep on saying: When I grow up I want to dress like Joan Rivers.

Her appartment palace in New York, a dream place to live in. I remember the Thanksgiving episode they did on her reality show with her daughter. Wow. That’s how you set a table for Thanksgiving. Thanks for the exquisite hosting lesson Joan. And then when the woman broke her family heirloom, how she didn’t kill her on camera and acted like she always said that you should not get attached to things. Great lesson.

But she was not only a style influence in my life. Her ability to laugh, her careless attitude towards what people thought, and how she presented herself in public like life was a box of yummy chocolates despite whatever woes she was carrying in her heart.

Her courage of bringing her mother-daughter relationship to the public, their fights and how they resolved them.

And I think I’d better stop it here, because I don’t think I’m making such a great job honoring Ms. Rivers. I’ll just shut up, and leave you with some of her thoughts which are a clear example of who Joan Rivers was: a unique, legendary, unforgettable and irreplaceable woman, may she rest in peace.

Don’t make friends with your dogs! The sons of bitches will literally die ahead of you and cause you grief!

I said Justin Bieber looked like a little lesbian — and I stand by it: He’s the daughter Cher wishes she’d had.

I enjoy life when things are happening. I don’t care if it’s good things or bad things. That means you’re alive. Things are happening.

Don’t follow any advice, no matter how good, until you feel as deeply in your spirit as you think in your mind that the counsel is wise.

I succeeded by saying what everyone else is thinking.

I’ve learned from my dealings with Johnny Carson that no matter what kind of friendship you think you have with people you’re working with, when the chips are down, it’s all about business.

I wish I had a twin, so I could know what I’d look like without plastic surgery.

 

Acting is my true love. I would like to have been a serious actor, and I plan to in the next life. I’m gonna be Meryl Streep Rivers.

My husband wanted to be cremated. I told him I’d scatter his ashes at Neiman Marcus – that way, I’d visit him every day.

Trust your husband, adore your husband, and get as much as you can in your own name.

 

People say that money is not the key to happiness, but I always figured if you have enough money, you can have a key made.

Don’t tell your kids you had an easy birth or they won’t respect you. For years I used to wake up my daughter and say, ‘Melissa you ripped me to shreds. Now go back to sleep.’

A child can be taught not to do certain things, such as touch a hot stove, pull lamps off of tables, and wake Mommy before noon.

I have become my own version of an optimist. If I can’t make it through one door, I’ll go through another door—or I’ll make a door. Something terrific will come no matter how dark the present.

With age comes wisdom. You don’t need big boobs to be feminine. Look at Liberace.”

Boy George is all England needs – another queen who can’t dress.

Look, if Cleopatra hadn’t had a great makeup man, she’d have gone down in history as a pig.

Joan Collins told a reporter that she hasn’t had plastic surgery; come on… she’s had more tucks than a motel bedsheet

Diets, like clothes, should be tailored to you.

Fur is there to keep me warm. Look, I am a great animal activist — two of my three dogs are rescued. And I only wear roadkill. But I mean, c’mon, I cannot be a hypocrite. I’m wearing leather shoes and eating chicken sandwiches.

I’m in a business where it’s not about race. It’s about talent. And hard work. Period. You got it, you make it. You don’t got it, you don’t make it. Over and out.

There is not one female comic who was beautiful as a little girl.

God doesn’t care that I have a sandwich on Yom Kippur. He cares that I helped a blind man across the street.

 

A lot of downs. A lot of ups. I’m still standing. A little osteoporosis, but I’m still standing.

Life is very tough. If you don’t laugh, it’s tough.

I don’t give a damn what people think. If you don’t like my opinion, too bad. That’s the only good thing about age.


 

In random order:

Quote sources 1, 2, 3, 4, 5. Image sources 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10

