Tags

, ,

No friendship is an accident. –O. Henry

Back in high school, I had a friend. We were two birds of a feather. We had planned to be each other’s maid of honor. We were young and naïve. College came and we both went our separate ways. So did our friendship.

It wasn’t because of me. It takes two to be in any type of relationship. I tried hard to keep that friendship, but with time, I sadly realized that the only one interested in keeping the friendship was me.

It didn’t happen immediately though. The first summer of our college days I travelled to spend two weeks with her. It was a great trip. I met her new friends, neighbors and acquaintances.

One of them was a guy, who was crazy in love with her. But she only saw him as her friend. yada yada yada. Anyway, he was a sweet friendly guy. But that was it…or so I thought.

I went back to school and he kept in touch with me. There was no Skype but we did keep in touch by mail, phone and e-mail. I still have a birthday card he sent me from the early days. Nothing romantic. It has never been that way. Just a friendly relationship.

All through college for some reason beyond my understanding we kept in touch. Not constantly. Sporadically. We could spend months without any news from each other, but if I needed advice on guys or whatever, I could pick up the phone or just email him and he was there. We were always in touch for our birthdays. He was there during my rough hard times.

I must admit that at first, I felt he kept in touch with me because he thought I could help him win the heart of our mutual friend. But he proved me wrong when my friendship with her drifted apart. He kept in touch with me, because of me.

My college days ended and after graduation until now, we have kept in touch. We live in different cities, so it is still a text, phone, twitter, email friendship.

I hadn’t seen him, live, in person, since that summer back in 1996. Until today. He was in town and we finally got together.

I won’t lie, I was a bit nervous. You know how some people only know each other on the internet but when they meet it is not the same? Well, I was afraid that would happen.

I don’t know why I was so nervous because we got together and it was like all those years hadn’t passed by. We had a nice time. We talked non-stop about everything.

You know how they say that you can count your friends on one hand and still have fingers left? Well, I’m so thankful today because I know that he is one of those fingers on my right hand. I have a friend in him. A friendship that can stand the test of time. And that is priceless.

Do you have friends you can count with your fingers on one hand and still have fingers left?

Friendship is priceless by Bloggeretterized

