Tags

, , , , ,

This post comes to you thanks to Twitter‘s Trending topics.

1. Did you cut your hair?

I am the type of woman who loves to play with her hair. I don’t wear my hair the same way everyday. Up, down, curly, straight, etc. I know this may be a little confusing for some. But really?  If you see it shorter, use your logic people! Why ask the obvious?

I once read this hilarious answer for this question:

No, I bought invisible ink and painted the tips with it!

I’ve never used it because some people simply don’t have a sense of humor, but I keep the answer on my mind so I can laugh in my mind before answering when someone asks me this.

 

2. Did you lose weight?

I don’t want to sound snobbish or anything but I must admit that I’ve been lucky enough to never have been overweight. We moved recently and as a result of all the moving fuss, I lost some weight. Went from a size 6 to a 3.5. (Yes 3.5, not quite a 4 and not quite a 3 ha ha ha)

Anyway, I’m sick and tired of getting this asked. Instead of asking did you lose weight? Why don’t people just compliment you. You would annoy me less if you started by saying:

“You look great. Did you lose weight?”

or better yet

“You look pretty/amazing/fabulous/smashing/beautiful. Did you lose weight?”

That would make such a difference, would make me smile 🙂 and I would actually answer you the question with full details. If you just shoot a “did you lose weight” all you are going to get from me is a “No.”

 

3. Are you in love?

I’ve been getting this question a lot lately, always after question number 2. I really don’t get what being in love has anything to do with losing weight? If I were in love I would be exuding happiness and confidence.  Even if I was going through an unrequited love phase, that doesn’t mean I would stop eating and lose weight. I’m not one of those “I’m dying of love” women.

 

4. Are you asleep? Did I wake you up?

First of all, if you call me in the wee hours of the morning and my voice sounds like I was asleep, why ask me if you woke me up? Second of all, if I am answering the call, isn’t that a clear indication that I am not asleep?

If you come in my room when the lights are out and you have to poke me until I open my eyes, why ask if I am asleep?

When you ask that, what are you expecting me to say? I won’t say “no you didn’t”. Believe me, if you wake me up I will say “Yes you woke me up.”

5. Are you on Facebook?

I love technology. I love the internet. I love social media. Yes it’s a good way to keep in touch with people who are far away. But when it comes to keeping in touch with the people I interact on a daily basis, I don’t see why being on Facebook is relevant.

I am old-fashioned when it comes to friends, I’d rather have a great conversation with you on the phone than read your Facebook status to know what’s up with you. If you are someone I interact with on a daily basis, I like seeing your face live in full color, not through a screen and on your “picture perfect thanks to Photoshop” images on your profiles.

There you have it. Five questions I hate being asked. 😉 What are yours?

 

 

 

 

